Maritime Transportation Security Act (MTSA)

MTSA Overview
Sensitive Security Information (SSI)

Who May Be Denied A TWIC?

Generally, all applicants must be U.S. citizens or eligible immigrants to apply for a TWIC. In addition, an individual must not be found to have terrorist ties, may not have prior convictions for certain crimes, and must have sufficient mental capacity to be approved for a TWIC.

Immigrant Status – An individual must be a U.S. citizen or eligible alien in order to receive a TWIC. TSA provides a list of acceptable documents that are sufficient to verify a lawful immigration status, which the applicant should take to the enrollment center.

Terrorist Ties – All applicants are screened against government terrorist watch lists. If TSA determines that an applicant has a connection to terrorist activity, it can deny the applicant a TWIC.

Mental Competency – An applicant may be denied a TWIC if TSA determines that the applicant lacks the mental capacity to hold a TWIC.

Criminal Disqualifiers – The TWIC Final Rule provides a list of permanent and interim disqualifying offenses.

Contact us

Do You Have any Questions?

Need Help?
Get in touch with us


2234 Richmond Ave., Houston,
TX 77098

Phone number
(713) 572-3600